03 January 2023

The Université de Rennes 1 becomes the Université de Rennes

Since 1 January 2023, the Université de Rennes 1 has disappeared to become the Université de Rennes, an experimental public institution.

The Université de Rennes brings together training departments (UFR, faculties, schools, institutes), research centres and five grandes écoles: École des hautes études en santé publique (EHESP), École nationale supérieure de chimie de Rennes (ENSCR), École normale supérieure de Rennes (ENS Rennes), Institut national des sciences appliquées de Rennes (INSA Rennes), Sciences Po Rennes.

This new multidisciplinary institution will focus on several areas:

  • Research : developing intensive research in the service of society, encouraging open science and stimulating innovation and transfer.
    • Training : to advance and transmit knowledge by crossing disciplinary boundaries, pedagogical innovation and diversification of pathways.
    • Student experience : to create the conditions for a quality student experience, to promote the success and fulfilling professional integration of students.
    • RSE : contribute to the Sustainable Development Goals, including the well-being of students, staff and stakeholders.
    • International : cooperate internationally and participate in the development of the European Higher Education and Research Area.

    The University of Rennes is also committed to playing a leading role in the ecological and environmental transition. It intends to actively contribute to the preservation and restoration of the planet through the implementation of the United Nations’ sustainable development objectives.

    © Université de Rennes